Himachal Pradesh Elections-2017 : All you need to know

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 Results

Himachal Pradesh Elections-2017

Himachal Pradesh Elections-2017

Focusing on the need of the hour wherein maximum youth of Himachal Pradesh are actively preparing for Himachal Pradesh HAS Examination, HimBuds.com brings to you the Brief description of Himachal Election-2017.

Himachal Pradesh Elections-2017 :

The Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Elections-2017 were held throughout the state, in one round, on 9th November 2017 to elect all 68 members of the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly. The result was declared on 18th December 2017 to decide the fate of all members for 68 seats of Vidhan Sabha. A total of 338 candidates were in the election fray contesting for 68 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) formed the government in the state of Himachal Pradesh after they defeated the Congress Party and won 44 seats in the 2017 State assembly polls. Congress, on the other hand, could secure only 21 seats. Two seats are claimed by Independent candidates and One seat secured by CPI(M). Both independents, Hoshiar Singh and Prakash Rana defeated BJP candidates Ravinder Singh Ravi and Gulab Singh from Dehra and Jogindernagar respectively.

BJP’s top leaders like the announced CM candidate Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal, State President Satpal Singh Satti were made to bite the dust by the electorate of their respective constituency. The two-time CM was made to shift his seat from Hamirpur to Sujanpur by party high command. He was defeated by Rajinder Rana, his one-time protege by approx. 1900 votes. BJP’s state president Satpal Singh Satti was defeated by a margin of 3,196 votes by Satpal Singh Raizada in the Una constituency. Satti had won the 2012 Assembly elections with a margin of 4,746 votes from the same constituency.

Like dad, like son, Vikramaditya Singh, son of former Chief Minister of Himachal Virbhadra Singh, has secured his maiden electoral victory by winning the Shimla Rural seat. Mr. Vikramaditya defeated BJP candidate Dr. Pramod Sharma by a margin of 4,880 votes. For a constituency which had the erstwhile Chief Minister as its MLA for the past 5 years, a victory margin of mere 4880 votes is too low to be happy about. Virbhadra Singh had very seriously nurtured this constituency in the past 5 years with a notion to make his son contest form this seat ensuring victory with a huge margin.

Virbhadra Singh and his son Vikramaditya Singh are the oldest and youngest members of state assembly respectively. The present assembly has only 7 MLAs below the age of 40 years with a political dynast Vikramaditya being the youngest.

Virbhadra Singh, former Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh, won from Arki defeating BJP candidate Rattan Singh Pal by a meager margin of 6,051 votes. This became Virbhadra Singh’s ninth electoral victory. Virbhadra Singh, who had won the previous 2012 assembly elections with a huge margin of 19,033 votes, saw a decline in his last election fray.

Himachal Pradesh Elections-2017
Mandi Parliamentary Constituency:

Mandi Parliamentary Constituency has a total of 17 Assembly segments in Six districts like Mandi, Kullu, Lahaul Spiti, Chamba, Kinnaur, and Shimla. Out of total 17 Assembly segments, the Congress won only 3 seats.

Ministers of sitting government lost their seats :

Many sitting ministers of the Virbhadra Singh Government lost their seats this election:

Thakur Kaul Singh (Health and Family Welfare Minister) lost his seat in Darang by a margin of around 2,000 votes to the BJP candidate Jawahar Thakur.
One of the strongest leaders of Kangra region, G.S. Bali (Food and Civil Supplies Minister) lost to Arun Kumar Kukka of the BJP from is stronghold Nagrota.
Thakur Singh Bharmouri (Forest Minister) lost from Bharmaur to Jiya Lal of the BJP.
Urban Development Minister Sudhir Sharma too was badly defeated by former minister Kishan Kapoor from Dharamshala.
Excise Minister Prakash Chaudhary lost to Col. Inder Singh of the BJP from Balh constituency by a margin of more than 10,000 votes.

New victorious faces:

A total of 23 new faces remained victorious in the Assembly elections 2017. These include 17 MLAs of BJP, 4 of the Congress and 2 Independents.

Kamlesh Kumari (39) BJP secretary & former Zila Parishad member and son of former Speaker BBL Butail,  Ashish Bhutail (39) of the Congress, won for the first time.

i) BJP’s Kamlesh Kumari won by a margin of 6,892 against Suresh Kumar of Congress.

ii) Ashish Bhutail won by a margin of 4,324 against Indu Goswami of the BJP.

Results from Kangra and Mandi district:

In Kangra district, a stronghold of BJP stalwart Shanta Kumar, BJP has secured a whopping 11 seats out of 15 while Congress secured only 3 seats.

The BJP has however made a clean sweep in Mandi district winning 9 out of 10 seats. It lost the battle in Jogindernagar where BJP’s former minister and father-in-law of Anurag Thakur, Gulab Singh Thakur lost by a huge margin to a multi-millionaire independent candidate Prakash Rana.

Margin Matters: 

The BJP and Congress, both faced a tough competition on many seats in Himachal, where the victory margin ranged from 100 to 2,000 votes.

i) Highest Margin:

BJP candidate Vinod Kumar from Nachan constituency (Mandi district) won with the highest margin of 15,896 against Congress candidate Lal Singh Kaushal.

ii) Lowest Margin:

Congress candidate Jagat Singh Negi from Kinnaur constituency won with a meager margin of 120 against BJP’s Tejwant Singh Negi.

Women  Power:

Four women candidates out of total 19 contesting the polls, registered a win in the 2017 elections.

1. Congress candidate Asha Kumari from Dalhousie.

2. BJP candidate Sarveen Chaudhary from Shahpur.

3. BJP candidate Rita Dhiman from Indora.

4. BJP candidate Kamlesh Kumari from Bhoranj.

Reserved Seats For SC/ST:

Of total 68, 20 seats are reserved, 17 for SC and for ST candidates. Out of 17 seats reserved for SC , Congress won only 4 seats while remaining 13 seats were bagged by BJP.Whereas out of 3 seats reserved for ST, congress won the kinnaur seat while BJP wrestled Bharmour and lahaul spiti seats.

Sh. Jai Ram Thakur was sworn in as the 14th Chief Minister of the state post-Himachal Pradesh Elections-2017. A five-time MLAhe is the first one to become CM from Mandi District.

Central observers sent by the BJP, Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman and Sh. Narender Tomar made this announcement in the presence of newly elected BJP MLAs, MPs at Hotel Peterhoff, Shimla on 25th December 2017.

Read Questions relating to HP Naib-Tehsildar Exam Preparation

Read Questions relating to HP Naib-Tehsildar Exam Preparation

Looking for a Job??? Wait!!! We May have a Relevant Job For You.

Visit Us Now at www.himnaukri.com

Hope the article was beneficial for you. Please give your valuable views in comment box below.



Related posts